Goodbye Junie Moon

My first day of blogging and where do I start? Queensland Australia? Seattle USA?  Alaska or Vietnam?

Very soon I will be putting out a couple of e books- or, at least one to start. So maybe I should start with Vietnam because both stories occur all or partially in that country.

The late Robin Moore, author of The French Connection, The Green Beret and many other books, and I collaborated on a book about my Vietnam experiences. The book which we called ‘faction’, (slightly fictionalized truth), was titled The Khaki Mafia. It sold over 800,000 copies but is now no longer in print.

With the current popularity of e books, I thought this was a good time to bring The Khaki Mafia back in that format. It is an action packed drama of life and death and sex and corruption during a time of war. The central character was based upon me and my testimony before The United States Senate Committee into Un-American Activities. That testimony made front page headlines and although much time has passed, I’m certain the impact has not diminished.

Recently I finished a sequel; this time a completely factual memoir. The working title (may be changed later) is Goodbye Junie Moon. That too will soon come out as an e book.

I have been warned that writers must never get carried away by flattering reviews from friends. Nevertheless, the following  email excerpts are from (1) a dear friend – (2) a published author from my writing group – (3) the daughter of a friend.  

I hope to be able to soon add more from happy readers.

“……………………………I have read the first fifty pages of your book and I feel as though you have just had a conversation with me, only you were doing all the talking. What I am trying to say is that I can almost hear your voice telling this story. I learned more about your early life than you ever talked about. In my mind it actually shapes you into who you are today. Needless to say, I love your manuscript. It is you. Cannot wait to continue reading it…………………………..”

“…………………………….Finished your book in one sitting. Whatever YOU think about a slow, multi-drafted method of writing, you certainly finish in fine style. Loved the peanut convoy. What a laugh. There was more of Australia than I was expecting but every bit of it was relevant and did not slow the story one bit. Your book has everything. Love and laughter, adventure and excitement, sadness and loss, tenacity in the face of disappointment, fear and exhilaration, the whole gamut of storytelling. At times it reads like a novel but you have all those photos to prove it is all true. Great book! Loved the lot of it. I will be very surprised if it does not find an enthusiastic publisher……………….”

“…………………………….I just finished reading your manuscript this week and I want to tell you how much I enjoyed it. Although I do not claim to be any kind of authority, I am a voracious reader. It is not often that I find a story I enjoy as much as I did yours.

Of course, I know you through my parents and I have read The Khaki Mafia, so I already knew some of your story. I do not think, however, that any of that influenced my experience. From the very first chapters, I was captured by your style of writing and the tale itself. I found myself looking forward to any opportunity I had (evenings and lunch breaks mostly) to continue reading.

I particularly enjoyed the way you moved back and forth, alternating chapters of your years in Australia and your later years in Vietnam. At the end of each chapter, I wanted to know what happened next, so there was always a feeling of anticipation for the next installment. For me, that is a sign of true enjoyment………………….”

I WILL UPDATE THIS BLOG WHEN I HAVE MORE NEWS ON BOOK AVAILABILITY……………….June C.

 

 

Leave a Reply

