PATTING MYSELF ON THE BACK

The following are my first reviews on Amazon. Of course I am thrilled with them. I would like to thank each reviewer personally but due to my total stupidity with anything to do with computers and social networking, I have not known how to do so. So, if any of you read this, please accept this post as a big, personal thank you. Hope Ellis, wherever you are – no-one could ask for a finer review. You understood my character perfectly. Thank you! As for Darlene Craviotto, I read her book,  An Agoraphobic’s Guide -And How Michael Jackson Got Me Out Of  The House and I loved it. She is an accomplished writer. Look her up on Amazon.  I hope my reviews transform into more readers for Goodbye Junie Moon and I hope my blog followers, friends, will forgive me for ‘blowing my own horn’. Cheers!

The truth (for a change), June 30, 2012
By Florida Bookworm – See all my reviews
This review is from: Goodbye Junie Moon (Kindle Edition)
There are plenty of books out there about the war in Vietnam, but few tell the story like this one. This is a memoir written by someone who was there, not as a soldier, but as an entertainer. June Collins is not afraid to show the seamier side of some of the people who were there to profit from the war, and to use anyone they had to to do so. This would seem like an unbelieveable tale, if it had not been documented by news stories and other sources. I for one am pleased to have read something that tells it like it was.

5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Memoir, August 12, 2012
By Darlene Craviotto “Darlene Craviotto” – See all my reviews
(REAL NAME) This review is from: Goodbye Junie Moon (Kindle Edition)
Just finished Goodbye Junie Moon, and I must say that I really enjoyed it. It gave me a totally new perspective on war (especially the Vietnam War), and Ms. Collin’s back story about growing up in Australia also held my attention. It’s not easy to intercut between two time periods, and two separate (but connected) storylines, but Collins pulls it off skillfully. The editing was superior (as sometimes in e-books it isn’t) and it was a fascinating memoir well told.

5.0 out of 5 stars Hello Junie Moon, August 7, 2012
By Hope Ellis – See all my reviews  Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Goodbye Junie Moon (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book. It made me laugh, it made me cry, but most of all it made me feel I was there. June had a life one usually only reads about in fiction, but this is not fiction. Her story before going to Vietnam was happy, sad, conservative, promiscuous, affluent, poverty stricken, a life of contrasts, a life that was a novel on its own. Then as a dancer in Philippines, Japan, Korea and Vietnam she grew in strength, giving us her readers a true picture of life and war. She is not only a heroine as a whistle blower, but a heroine and a mentor for anyone worried about stepping out of their own comfort zones. Hello June and congratulations.

Leave a Reply

