HAVE I LEARNED ANYTHING ABOUT PROMOTING EBOOKS?????

Not a helluva lot! Another two days of giving out free ebooks has passed. Still I’m groping in the dark, fully aware that my lack of expertise with the computer and blogging is my handicap. I really wish it was back to ‘ the good old days’ when one sold their book to a publisher, no matter how difficult that could be.
It is the millions of self published ebooks that are choking the market. I know that mine is one of them but so many are rubbish and it makes it that much harder to find one with merit – in which category I put my own. I have recently downloaded ebooks that are nothing but 100% narrative! Ugh! Writing 101- Show, Don’t Tell.
On a POSITIVE NOTE; this, my second ‘give away’ had better results than the first. Doesn’t it seem strange to judge success by how many freebies you gave out? But apparently that is the way the game is played.
On my first Freebie, during 3 days I gave out only 360 downloads. This time, in 2 days, I gave away almost 2,000. The increase, I believe, was mainly due to a site called FreeBooksy. I paid them $50, a very reasonable amount, and they advertised my ‘give away’ for two days. Their promotion was well done and I don’t hesitate to recommend them to any Indie author.
This post is of no interest to those of you who are not authors, I know. I will follow up soon with a more general subject. Until then, Cheers.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Johanna can Zanten
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 17:15:57

    hi June,

    Thanks for the tip about the ad services. I wondered how the give-away works, and who your distributor is. I have used Bookbaby.com as my Ebook publisher and they distribute to all e book retailers. They would need a substantial time of notice ahead of a give-away campain and there are costs involved to make changes (price) once the book it published. Also, do you make any money in the long run by giving away books? There are already so many free books on line, so isn’t it as easy to get lost in the multitudes as a free book?
    Good luck with your book.
    Johanna van Zanten
    Author of On Thin Ice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

