A LONG TIME IN BETWEEN DRINKS.

That heading was meant to be ‘a long time in between posts’. Thanks to my tardiness I have probably lost a few of my valued followers now. I offer no decent excuses. The writing bug has been dormant recently.

With great uncertainty, I have started writing another book in the Junie Moon series. Because I haven’t been sure that I want to write this one, I have got off to several false starts. However, yesterday I went to my usual bi-monthly writing group where I read what I have written so far to the members. Their comments were most encouraging so I guess I will press on.

Initially, Goodbye Junie Moon was about one thousand pages long. Recognizing my lack of fame, I knew it was too long for an unknown writer and turned it into two books – publishing Junie Moon Rising as the sequel. Now I have readers still asking “What next?” Well, as I’ve said before, I didn’t want to write about the years when I had all the children at home. I like to write about positive things and frankly, some of it was hell. Nevertheless, they have all turned out well and got on with their lives – a far cry from where they would be had I not given them that opportunity, so I suppose I will give my story one last shot. At this point I am undecided if I should post early chapters here. It could work two ways. A, either titillate you for more, or B, turn you off – particularly if it has not been fully edited. I will leave that decision for a later date.

Meantime, I have been trying to relax and catch up on some of my reading. Only hours ago I finished reading Michael Caine’s autobiography, The Elephant to Hollywood. Now I have read many celebrity auto-bios and some of them have been little more than a litany of movies they have appeared in or other famous people they have known. The fascination of this soon palls. Not so Michael’s book. Sure, he tells us of every film he’s ever been in and every actor he has ever performed with. But the real person comes across with Michael, and not just the actor, exposed. One of the heart-warming themes of his book is his love for his mother and his family. In the instability of Hollywood, he seems to have remained loyal to, and totally in love with his wife throughout. Loyalty and even humility seem to be strong characteristics in this man whom I grew to admire, the longer I read. His book reveals several facets of his personality and habits, even his delight in gardening and cooking in later years. In fact he includes some of his recipes, although I skipped the one on preparing garlic snails.

A fortnight ago my Kindle went on the blink. I don’t like reading on the small screen of my iphone so I did something unusual for me, an avid ebook reader; I borrowed Michael’s bio, in hard copy, from the local library. Now I hate to take it back. When I really love a book I like to browse through it again. Meantime, I’ve bought a new ipad so I think I’ll have to order the book from Amazon.

Regarding my own two books, they are doing the usual. That means they are showing short bursts of good activity followed by periods of the doldrums. Goodbye Junie Moon is in the doldrums at the moment. I plan to let her rest for the moment until I do a bit of proof-reading and correct numerous punctuation flaws. I would have done it sooner but, as I frequently reiterate, I am computer illiterate and it is a great challenge for me to work out how to put the corrections onto amazon.

This self publishing is one helluva learning experience. I plod along like most of us, trying this and trying that, trying to crack the nut and get recognition. And when I do, you will be the first to know – those of you who are still with me.

In my efforts to promote my books I have joined several online writers’ forums. There are so many authors telling us all about their latest four or five star reviews that I mostly skip the review copies. Consequently, I rarely post copies of my own reviews here or on the forums. Immodestly I tell you, I am slowly building a healthy number of good reviews. Goodbye Junie Moon has accumulated 63 five star reviews and 39 four star reviews. Junie Moon Rising has only been out a short while and it has received 1 four star review and 14 five star reviews.

It is my most recent review for Junie Moon Rising that I am going to post here. Any writer is thrilled to get a five star review. I always value the time and effort the writer took to post a review, not to mention the joy I feel in knowing they liked my book. I always want to thank them but usually don’t know how. There is a small box beneath the review section where I can write a comment but I don’t think many reviewers ask to be  notified of comments.

The review which has thrilled me so much this morning is this;

By James A. Anderson on September 15, 2013

Format: Kindle Edition

This is simply an outstanding memoir and one of the best I’ve ever read. That includes memoirs by some of the biggest names in entertainment and politics.I must admit I have not read June Collins’s first book Goodbye Junie Moon yet, nor The Khakhi Mafia bestseller she co-authored with Robin Moore of The Green Berets and French Connection fame, but after this I simply will have to.

This book is captivating beyond words and a real page turner as she tells of her many exploits and activities. She has packed more in a lifetime than many people could even dream of.

This sequel to Goodbye Junie Moon picks up where she left off in Washington, after escaping death threats by testifying in Senate hearings about widespread army corruption in Vietnam. Collins was a whistleblower driven by conscience to expose this scandal. A flamboyant, divorced, ex-stripper and dancer, suffering PTSD from the Vietnam War, she writes a memoir of outstanding forthrightness and courage which shows us we should not judge a person for their occupation. Underneath it all, emerges the picture of a woman of real heart, courage and compassion for the downtrodden. I don’t know June Collins, but I would be proud to meet her one day and shake her hand.

In this book she writes of her hopes to become an adoptive parent for streetkids in Asia but has little hope because of her background and the lack of a husband. I don’t want to give too much away, but this book has a real heartwarming ending. A triumph of the human spirit over adversity. It would make an excellent movie. Any producers out there take note and snap up the rights.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shirley Hicks
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 08:58:51

    Don’t get discouraged, June. You are a fabulous writer, and your life is amazing.

    Reply

  2. Jeri Burn
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 11:54:07

    Thank you, June! I love reading a post from you!

    Reply

  3. Marna Collins (no relation :( )
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 15:07:12

    I always get a good feeling when I see a post from you in my email. I so enjoyed both Junie Moon books. After I read ‘Goodbye Junie Moon’ I eagerly searched for everything else you had written. Keep writing, you are spreading happiness.

    Reply

    • June Collins
      Sep 17, 2013 @ 20:20:38

      Thanks Marna – and it is a good name we share. Actually, Collins is the name of my stepfather. You may have read in my first book that I chose to use his name to fit in with the rest of my family – the half brother and sisters. My step-dad was a descendant of the infamous Irishman Michael Collins. There was a movie made about Michael. Due to marriage, my name has since changed again but I’m happy sticking with Collins.

      Reply

  4. Lynda Cartier
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 23:11:00

    Junie Moon Rising was an excellent book – I felt I knew the author when I was done reading. And I was amazed at the bravery she constantly showed through out all the trials.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

