BLOG HOP

This post has been a long time coming. Several reasons. I’ve had a serious and prolonged writer’s block. And, I have previously acknowledged that my total lack of technology skills does not lend itself to a first class blog.

Leila Summers, a cyber friend and great writer from South Africa has lured me back with this invite to participate in the blog hop. Leila is the mother of two daughters and she has written a great book ( I don’t use those words lightly) titled “It Rains in February”.

It can be found on Amazon at http://www.amazon.com/Leila-Summerse/B005HFPUMG.

Leila’s blog; leilasummers.co.za/blog/

Facebook; http://www.facebook.com/leilaOsummers

Many writers have good stories to tell but Leila does so with extraordinarily beautiful writing, check her out!

Thank you, Leila.

Leila has asked me the following four questions so here goes;

 

1. WHAT AM I CURRENTLY WORKING ON?

I am sorry to say that I have spent more time trying to promote Goodbye Junie Moon and Junie Moon Rising than getting on with yet another sequel. Many readers have asked me to please write a sequel about the children I adopted but although I keep trying, I find I cannot do it. It was a huge job and there were many days I would not want to live through again – even by writing about them. There are already so many sad memoirs out there and I don’t want to add to them. Still, I love writing and hope to come up with a new idea that grabs me very soon.

2. HOW DOES MY WORK DIFFER FROM OTHERS OF ITS GENRE?

My life has been so varied and intense that it is hard to believe some of it is true. (Most of it has been verified in newspapers and magazines) Therefore, although I write as memoir, it actually reads more like fiction.

3. WHY DO I WRITE WHAT I DO?

Because I know I have a story to tell. I know the subject extremely well and do not have to do a lot of research. In my stories I try to be extremely truthful – even when the truth does not put me in a particularly good light. Hopefully the reader finds enough good in the character to more than balance things out. Nothing is all black or white and I believe readers can smell the truth and appreciate it

4 HOW DOES MY WRITING PROCESS WORK?

I am greatly in favor of prologues to set the scene. Other than that, I don’t use an outline although I generally have a rough idea of beginning, middle and end. Thanks to ‘cut and paste’ I am able to alter the continuity occasionally until I feel it runs smooth. Once I get into the story, it seems to stay in my head even while I am sleeping. It is not unusual for me to wake up in the middle of the night with actual sentences running through my brain. I get up immediately and write them down. I think it is important to know when to finish. I have read some books that still run on after what has seemed to be the perfect ending. I no longer want to keep reading. An epilogue should cover any unfinished business, short and sweet.

For those of you who are unfamiliar with me, here is a brief bio. I am an Aussie but I spent half my life living in the USA. As a teenager I married an Aussie sheep farmer but that did not last long after I lost the children I so desperately wanted during, or shortly after, childbirth. My life changed entirely when I became a dancer and started traveling the world. During the Vietnam War I entertained the troops for several years and put my life at risk by becoming a whistle blower against a group of corrupt club sergeants. That story was written about in detail in my first book, The Khaki Mafia. I was fortunate to have the well known author, Robin Moore as my co-author. Robin wrote The French Connection and The Green Beret as well as dozens of others.

I was a long time settling down after the war but eventually I married an American and together we adopted six children ( not babies) from several countries. Now in my retirement, I live a peaceful life interspersed with travel and occasionally…writing.

 

AN APOLOGY IS DUE HERE.

I needed to tag at least two other bloggers to keep this thing going. I selected Beryl Belsky from The Writer’s Drawer and Clancy Tucker. Both are prolific bloggers with world-wide followings due to consistently terrific posts.

CLANCY TUCKER has unfortunately had to decline. He is at the moment extremely unwell. Even so, he is managing to keep up his daily posts which he prepared while he was feeling a little better. He is both a writer and a photographer of great merit and his posts are varied and have a huge world wide following. His blog can be found at clancytucker.com.au and his book ‘Gunnedah Hero’, a good Aussie tale, can be purchased from his blog site. I cannot recommend his site highly enough so do yourselves a favor and check him out and maybe send him well wishes while you’re at it.

BERYL BELSKY of THE WRITER’S DRAWER is my other tag.

Beryl was born in Eire, raised in Australia but now lives in Israel. She graduated from the Australian National University with degrees in E.Asian studies (Japanese), and political science. For 30 years she worked as an editor for academic institutions.

A few years ago she started writing blogs which eventuated into The Writer’s Drawer – her main focus these days. When I think of Beryl, the words ‘literary nurturer’ springs to mind. Although she has not written any books herself, Beryl is the writers champion. Not only does she publish writers excerpts and reviews on her blog but she also shares writing tips with them and runs writing contests and promotes writing contests organized by others. She calls The Writer’s Drawer an intercultural site for authors of all genres, languages, status ( from beginners to established). For those starting out, she has always been ready to ‘give a hand’. A writer could not find a better friend than this. I was one of the fortunate ones whose book she has reviewed on her blog. It was an insightful and honest review. 

Besides the blog, Beryl annually publishes an anthology of short stories and poems. She is also available for freelance editing projects. On the 17th March, be sure and look up her blog to see her blog hop post. http://www.thewritersdrawer.net/index.html

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lee
    Mar 10, 2014 @ 02:42:57

    Hello June…I look forward to reading the sites you’ve given. It was great to catch up with Alan when he was here…and to meet Brigitte. What a lovely woman she is. I felt as if I’d known her for a long time.

    By the way…don’t sell yourself short…you do have a first class blog. 🙂

    Reply

    • June Collins
      Mar 10, 2014 @ 07:56:40

      Thanks Lee. Maybe I should start working the blog again. Re Alan and Brigitte; she is indeed lovely. They have fallen silent again. Hope they are attaining their goals in Germany or wherever they are.

      Reply

  2. Beryl Belsky
    Mar 10, 2014 @ 11:33:09

    Thanks for tagging me, June. And we all look forward to that sequel….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

